Balticon 46–Part 1

As I have been a fan of podcasts, podcasters, and books. I have heard so many people talking about Balticon being the podcaster con, and never got around to going until this year. Man boy have I been missing out. This was the most amazing time I have ever had, I met so many people that are from podcasts that I listen to. I was in constant fanboy and it was great.

I needed to rehydrate and calm myself from 7 plus hour drive

My room was nice though I think I like the hotel at Anime Festival Orlando better

Looks comfy don’t it

 

My Digital landscape

The con hub for Sportcenter

 

Friday

PORK!!!

If you guys watched my twitter or my Facebook I came up on Thursday giving myself a bit of recovery then the next day I began the con off right with a panel about steam punk with Tee Morris, Philippa Ballantine Morris, and Doc Coleman. This was my first time meeting the good doctor even though that morning I was eating breakfast and he was just outside in the lobby waiting for Nathan Lowell. The whole time we had been tweeting back and forth. Then later on I met up with Tee and Pip and the Manly Man Morris began his preparations for the New New Media party which was everyone showing up with meat and good beer at the Marriott Residence Hotel and Tee grilling it up. This was so much fun, we plan on doing it again hopefully it will get bigger.

 

 

MANLY MAN WANT MORE MEAT!!

MANLY MAN LIKE MEAT!!

 

 

Saturday

I began the day with another awesome breakfast

MORE PORK!!!

 

 

 

 

 

Then I started out with a panel about editing your podcast with Michael L. Stokes, John Mierau, Paul Elard Cooley, Tim Dodge and John Anealio. I recorded this whole panel I am not a good filmer but its not to bad some shaky bits but nothing to bad. Though I am using the free wordpress and I haven’t got the video upgrade so I will figure out something either youtube or facebook or something.

Awesome and informative

I also went to the Geek Radio Live Panel and it was a blast to behold SHO-NUFF!

SHO-NUFF!

 

Next up was Tee and Pip’s signing then following them was Nobilis Reeds signing. Things were going good until I made the fatal flaw of goingto the room to take a nap as I was still very fatigued from the new new media party and I aggrivatingly slept through the I Should Be Writing Live panel by Mur Lafferty…maybe next year. I did how ever go to Scott Sigler‘s panel on Expanding his Galactic Football League series.

If only pictures could talk

The Wiener is!!!?

I rounded out the evening with a little Erotica Ala Cart: Iron Chef. There are pictures but these are..well they involve a plus penis, and the miss use of Rumbas so I don’t know if they could be placed on the blog just yet gotta ask some people for permission lol. Let me tell you if you can make it to Balticon next year this panel is a MUST.

Finally I went to the Greoge Hrab Concert it was awesome. The one down side is that I had only my iphone I captured video but it is not good quality and it would not do the awesome that George Hrab puts down at his shows justice. Then I finish the night up with more hanging wih folks and hittin the bar. A real girl herself bought me a drink and Scott and I talked up the playoff and the coming football season needless to say it aint a party unless your double fisting some sort of alcoholic beverage which is the reason I didn’t end up back in my room til 3am or so lol.

 

Sunday

I started with some Mickey D’s I  McGriddles lol. Then I hit my first panel which was on building a religion in your Fiction with John C.Wright, Barbara Friend Ish, Gail Z. Martin, Bernard Dukas, and the awesome P.G. Holyfield. Then I went to Anime for parents and the Scifi in anime panels. The notable things about this is after wards I walked with the members of the panel who are on the Balticon Anime track and they want me to do Anime panels next year so look out Balticon 47 Big Bear will be in you.

After a nap(these podcasters can drink) I grab some lunch and head to the live Shared Desk. I recorded all of this as well(I need a youtube account) but the most exciting then other than a visit from Crazy Uncle Charlie was the world premier of the book trailer for the second Ministry of Peculiar Occurrences novel The Janus Affair.

Devo Spice Nerdcore at it’s finest

Riding this awesome wave I went to the Devo Spice concert and it was Fucking Hilarious and awesome and I will totally have to make a youtube account so I can post it up for you guys I recorded the whole thing every song from begining to end. Then I was off for the last night of partying

Monday’s big goodbye.

Monday

Was fun but sad for it was the last day of the con I attended Nathan Lowell’s reading and Doc Coleman’s reading

Reading Divine Inspirations: A blasphemy in 3 acts(Act 2)

Doc Coleman, and Yoji Kondo

Well That was my balitcon in a nutshell I have a blast and cannot recommend this convention enough to anyone who loves podcasters, or SciFi, or both. Part to will be just all the random pics I took from panels, around the con and the Monday goodbye/send off lunch. Well this is Big Bear signing off for now.

 

 

2 comments on “Balticon 46–Part 1

Leave a Reply

