Book Review: If Your Writing Sucks, Quit.

I have been giving my self the business with these books to review. maybe that is why it has taken me so long because there so unique and fun and in this case helpful, that I can’t really talk about them or well don’t know how to talk about them. This post folks I am going to be talk about “If Your Writing Sucks, Quit”  by good and well OWG member T. James. This along with the previously blogged Bleeding Ink Anthology were two books I have been meaning to do reviews of and worm my way in to podcast interviews for. I am still working that last part so reviews will be gotten out of the way right now. so shall we?

first and foremost if you do not have a sense of humor even a little one just put the book down now alright? This is a great work of advice on writing and just handling your budding career as a scribe in general.  It is done in a way that if you are some kind of soft pasty lil nancy writer you might not like this one. I am not saying TJ is mean but he speak some very dry and a bit harsh truths. As an example I will talk about the first chapter which is titles “Do not be afraid of obscurity and delusion: No one knows you, so no one cares. Rejoice!” This may seems like some real harsh advice but seriously think about, even who has been doing this blog for a year and change now really am not known. The truth, focus and realizations in this book are all right there for you just in the title of the first chapter.

The humor comes in all over the place a very blatant big of cheesy humor is the fictitious author of the book Faye Ling(Failing) get it?…what….no? well whatever. The point is some of the tid bits in this book are spiced with that kind of humor along with very sarcastic tongue and cheek type flourishes. For the most part this is a balance and well used formula though it can be abit heavy handed at times or fall flat. I felt this was well the writing trying to either drive a point home or not piss off or hurt the feelings of the more sensitive types. I say go balls to the wall, go big or go home right? this books title is the embodiment of that idea and even comes back full tilt in the tenth and final chapter of the book.

being a wanna be fiction writer this book helped point out and teach me things I already knew and some I didn’t but all were valuable. even if it was something I already knew just said differently repetition is the easiest way to learn something right? This book covers the writing, the creation, and the business end of being an author and everything in between. I don’t Podcasting is covered in the book but TJ isn’t a podcaster though if i can get my hands on him maybe he will become one. one day.

so pick this up and give it a shot, you may not like all the things said, you may not pay attention to all that is said but you will come away from this book and a sense that someone tried to teach you something in all the book has to offer from its tone, to its message, to the things only noticeable between the proverbial lines.

2 comments on “Book Review: If Your Writing Sucks, Quit.

  1. Thanks for the review, Jason. I’m glad you enjoyed Faye’s companionship for a few pages. She won’t say “thank you” I’m afraid, but I know, deep down, that she really appreciates it.

Leave a Reply

