Big Bear Unchained

broken-chain-1024x768So this post is probably gonna offend some people but hey it’s the Internet right?Right.

I am a person who makes jokes, I make jokes a lot. I say things that can make a lot of people uncomfortable. One of the most confusing and troubling things people find about me is I find the word Nigger funny. I should state that as a young idiot black youth I was called nigger and it made me so mad that I fought someone over it, and for that, for fighting over it I am sorry. A lot of people probably feel that is well acceptable to fight over but this grown up and far more mature version of Me. I feel that the word nigger has way to much power among we the enlightened people. This is 2012 and folks absolutely cringe as if being hit when this word is spoken. I mean young black Americans like myself, still today if called a nigger or even hear the word spoken by someone not black will flip shit as if that person just brandished a whip and white hood. I don’t get it.

Black people today use nigger as a term of greeting or endearment, “what up nigga?”, “You my nigga” like putting an “A” on the end make its for only ok for black people to say and if you anyone else it has to have “ER” at the end and be totally offensive and racist…yeah that makes sense. Comedians like Dave Chapelle, and Paul Mooney, just to name some of most notable. Have made a fortune off the word nigger. Albeit along with far more foul language in my opinion. Yet the fact remains that Dave’s Nigger Family skit was freaking funny, the Black White Supremacist floored a nation and any time Paul steps to a microphone for a stand up set you can expect to break your funny bone and nigger will be apart of the reason. That is the keys to this puzzle folks right there, laughter.

I saw Django Unchained last night and the word nigger was used in high amount…insanely high amounts or a mainstream movie hell I don’t think roots can hold a candle. Folks in the theater around me got bone stock still, you could have heard a pin drop. Yet nigger was used in funny scenes, tragic scenes, normal scenes, character building scenes I mean I don’t think there was a scene with dialogue without the word nigger or negro. That’s another step or key if you will. How else do you break the spell over one of histories most notorious words, you make people laugh at it, or feel a strong emotion while hearing it but don’t play it up. Let it happen and move on. Fears are crushed by laughter and understanding. Nigger is a word that symbolizes and is made from fear. The more it is used the less risqué and more normalized it can become. It’s just a damn word. Which is why again I am sorry for ever raising a hand in violence at that funny little word.

Here is some Big Bear homework for you choose just one or all of these 1) Go see Django Unchained, 2) watch the Chapelle show’s Nigger family and Black White Supremacist skits, 3) the South Park episode with Stan’s dad on wheel of fortune 4) watch all Paul Mooney’s stand up on Netflix. Then come back here and comment on this post. If you agree thank you for being open minded and casting the ridiculous spell at the nigger word. If you disagree  why? why in 2013 are you so afraid or offended by the word nigger? I am not saying we should use the world in everyday language but if someone calls me a nigger and in modern times it has been done, I am and have laughed right in there face. It tickles me pink when it happens because I could give two shits about that word and any connotation it has. IT’S. JUST. A. WORD.

I don’t know if your reading this and are like yeah he’s right or this nigger here is insane but either way I am gonna laugh about it I will thank you, because I am not afraid of a word. Until we can stop being afraid of the word nigger we can never move past the things symbolized with in it. So if I have offended you well…tough, I am a nigger bear after all.

Leave a Reply

