What a day…in the life of a mechanically un-inclined nerd bear….

Sigh, I think I have told my friends this numerous times but cars are easy to buy but murder to keep up. I mean seriously I drove to this years Balticon in my truck. It handled the drive lovingly. Theennnn, when we get back there was a change in the air. It all start with…a pop. yes as I was backing out of the drive to head to work there was a pop and my right tired blew out, as I had no time for changing a tire less than 20 minutes before work It had to stay until the am. Not such a bad thing right? right well the geniuses at car companies now use these lovely devices called locking lug-nuts and to remove a tire this beast of man made origin must be conquered. I maybe a rather physically menacing figure when looked at from a general stand point I mean. 6’3 280lbs big and bald well needless to say I was stumped by staggered by the two hit combo of releasing the spare tire from its cage and removing the flat. by the way Chevrolet eat a dick for your asinine spare tire mounting and torture device turned vehicle jack. as I have spotted off such craziness I will illuminate 30 minutes to struggle and wrench these lug-nuts off after a 45 minute cranking of this damned jack to raise the vehicle so it and the bad tire do not fal land crush my poor exhausted self after a shift at work. Now the really killer the spare tire house is a De Vincian device were you have to crank this turny thing to lower the device but at the same time to hve it jacked up and pressing in what your lowering to compress this spring and go back and forth between cranking to lower and lowering the jack to keep continual pressure until the tire literally falls off this industrial strength death cord. now after all is said and done( a nap 3 beers a google search for youtube videos and half a day later) I have released the imprisoned spare tire and with more grunting turning and wrench attached and cast the blown ring of rubber into the pit(bed of my pickup) and lowered the truck back upon the ground to rest were it shall sit for a month because my breaks and rotors are and make a horrible banshee squeel and grinding sound straight form the never ending story rock family. Now after forking over nearly 4 hundred bucks for a replacement tire for the front left(driver side) due to extensive tire wall damage and breaks and rotors for the front my poor baby is almost ready to roll once more just some minor things now like a tune up, and normal time/mileage based maintenance and I can stop driving the mini-can around.

so moral of the story, become a wizard and use brooms, flu powder, and port keys to get around for there cheaper and far less of a pain in my furry nerd bear butt.

Now if you will excuse me I am off to weep and drink some rye as remember this tale has drained me, but dont forget(shameless self promo) to check out My podcast along side Jen, called Talk Nerdy 2 Me rate us and review us on iTunes if you like and or if your feeling froggy stop by the Facebook page and talk with us there we are always posting things and speaking of whatever odd nerdy thing we are into at the moment and would love for you to join us as well and give your likes and share as tribute…I mean wait what do I mean. yeah so just come say hi, and this is Big Bear out until next time.

Leave a Reply

